Xuan Zang (大唐玄奘)

During the Tang Dynasty’s era of “Zhen Guan” (of Emperor Taizong), Xuan Zang, a young Buddhist monk, in his quest to find the knowledge in Buddhism, embarks on a journey to India, that is fraught with perils and dangers. He encounters natural disasters, and sees the sufferings of the common people. Soldiers get in his way, his disciple betrays him, he struggles through deserts, and is short on food and water. He finally arrives in India, and studies Buddhism in earnest. By the time he returns to China, he is 50 years old.


Huang Xiaoming as Xuanzang
Kent Tong as Moksha Gupta
Purba Rgyal as Shi Putuo
Tan Kai as Wang Xiang
Luo Jin as Li Chang
Xu Zheng as Li Daliang
Andrew Lin as Qu Wentai
Che Xiao as Xuanzang’s mother (flashback)
Vivian Dawson as Wu Qing
Jiang Chao
Zhao Liang
Wang Huichun
Winston Chao as Emperor Taizong of Tang
Lou Jiayue as woman from Western region