The Eight Hundred

During the early days of the Second Sino-Japanese War, and on a greater scale World War II, the Imperial Japanese Army invaded Shanghai, which became known as The Battle of Shanghai. After holding back the Japanese for over 3 months, and suffering heavy losses, the Chinese army was forced to retreat due to the danger of being encircled. Lieutenant Colonel Xie Jinyuan of the 524th Regiment of the under-equipped 88th Division of the National Revolutionary Army, lead 452 young officers and soldiers to defend Sihang Warehouse against the 3rd Imperial Japanese Division consisting of around 20,000 troops on a heroic suicidal last stand against the Japanese under an order by Generalissimo of Nationalist China, Chiang Kai-shek. The decision was made to provide a morale boost to the Chinese people after the losses of Beijing and Shanghai, and help spur support from the Allies, who were in full view of the battle from the International Settlement in Shanghai just across the Suzhou Creek.


Huang Zhizhong as Lao Hulu, soldier.
Zhang Junyi as Xiao Hubei, soldier.
Oho Ou as Duan Wu, soldier.
Du Chun as Lieutenant Colonel Xie Jinyuan.
Zhang Cheng as Lei Xiong, company commander.
Wang Qianyuan as Yang Guai, soldier.
Jiang Wu as Lao Tie, soldier.
Zhang Yi as Lao Suanpan, soldier.
Zhang Youhao as Xiao Qiyue, soldier.
Vision Wei as Zhu Shengzhong, soldier.
Tang Yixin as Yang Huimin, a girl scout guide who delivered the Nationalist Chinese flag to the soldiers
Hideo Nakaizumi as Colonel Konoe Isao.
Li Jiuxiao as Dao Zi.
Liang Jing as Wife of the Professor.
Hou Yong as the Professor.
Li Chen as soldier.
Xu Jiawen (Augusta Xu-Holland) as Eva.
Yu Kailei as Luo Yang Chan, soldier.
Xin Baiqing as Fang Xingwen.
Cao Weiyu as Yu Hongjun.
Ma Jingwu
Yu Haoming as Shangguan Zhibiao, company commander.
Liu Xiaoqing as Sister Rong.
Yao Chen as He Xiangning.
Zheng Kai as Chen Shusheng, deputy squad leader.
Huang Xiaoming